Photos

Comments

  1. Thank you for such a wonderful stay over the Easter break (2014). The children are already begging to come back and see the new pet pen when it is finished (oh, and sleep in the Roundhouse.....and the Bothy!!)
    We had a fabulous couple of days cooking on the campfire and top marks for entertaining our children with bunny cuddles and pony rides even before we'd finished pitching the tent!
    We'll definitely be back.

    (Posted on 2014-04-20 17:19:00 by )
  2. Round house was brilliant! 8 folk were sleeping inside and there was definitely room for more! Good weekend away for all.

    (Posted on 2014-04-17 03:55:00 by )
  3. I dream of the bothy evey day cant wait for my next visit be it the bothy or the tent. love it.

    (Posted on 2014-03-03 12:55:00 by )
  4. Hogmanay 2013.

    After some lovely stays at Balloch o Dee throughout 2013, we thought it would be nice to bring in 2014 there. However, not under canvas; instead we thought we'd rough it in the luxury surroundings of the Bothy. It was a good job we did, as en route from just up the road in Ayrshire, many of the main and minor roads were closed due to flooding. After a windswept journey down the coast we finally made it.

    The upper field was a bit of a boating lake when we arrived and we were relieved to hear that the sole caravan's inmate had escaped south. It looked like it was about to float away! The Bothy though, was toastie warm thanks to James pre-empting our arrival time. Cheers m'dears!

    We managed a cracking walk on the 31st and the rain started again just as we arrived back. Despite outside being cold and wet, the Bothy was a haven of heat, comfort, nice smells and some yummies. We didn't need to bring anything else major as most stuff was provided.

    James and Hazel always make us incredibly welcome and we are proud to have progressed to hugs :) Thanks for an incredible 3 days and all the best for an ace season in 2014. We will certainly be joining you for peace, tranquility and a bit of hippydippiness at the best campsite we've both visited in all our years camping.

    See you soon! Kate and John xxx

    (Posted on 2014-01-02 17:26:00 by )
  5. Booked this site for our first holiday in Scotland, and now i think we have been spoilt. The campsite is set two miles away from the main road, and takes you over the moor to arrive. The scenery is stunning to say the least and we actually saw an osprey, well i think thats what it was , on our drive to the site. On arrival we were welcomed by James and basically told pitch where you would like and enjoy. There are numerous campfire pits dotted aroud the site and we pitched close to one of these. We collected wood from the surrounding area, thanks to James lending us his axe. A campfire was therefore had each evening. And what evenings they were. Luckily there was no cloud cover and we witnessed a truly amazing night sky full of stars by the campfire. We even saw our first shooting stars and it was unbelievable. The shower and toilet block each night were lit by candles and a wonderfull smell of jos sticks and incense filled the air. There were horses and dogs free to raom the site which was pleasant. A lot to see close by and within a forty minute drive from the campsite. Stranraer, Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, Port Patrick, Port William, The Murrbury smokehouse with their fish and chips not to be missed, and our favourite places Gatehouse of Fleet and Kirkcudbright. Ok so I have to say that the water was cold one morning for the shower, but that is all that i can say that was a minor inconvenience. A wonderful site ran by wonderful people and we will be back in the future. Would give the holiday 9 out of ten

    (Posted on 2013-09-22 20:36:00 by )
  6. Said we would return again this year and we are doing exactly that. Cant wait only for three nights but its better than none. Roll on 30th September.

    (Posted on 2013-09-10 01:03:00 by )
  7. Just returned from 2 weeks at Balloch O' Dee. What a wonderful campsite. The candlelit toilet and showers were always clean. Kids loved the puppies,rabbits, horses, chickens and playing on the trampoline.
    Space for our very large tent next to a firepit and bbq. Kids really enjoyed having a camp fire.
    Thank you James and Hazel for a wonderful holiday.

    (Posted on 2013-08-17 16:50:00 by )
  8. Could not recommend this place enough. So chilled, campfires allowed (unusual in campsites in our experience), gorgeous loos and hot showers (became known as 'the romantic toilets' as they were beautifully lit by candles at night), plenty of space, stunning scenery, free pony trekking, help yourself to eggs fresh from the coop, animals roaming freely, toys and books for the kids. The stargazing at night was out of this world - lost count of the number of shooting stars we seen!
    Definitely be back soon to this magical place. Lots of happy memories were made :)

    (special thanks to James who came to the rescue to mend our broken tent, rally round helpers when the wind picked up to get the tent pitched and provided us with milk for the children when we had forgotten to go to the shop - all very much appreciated!)

    (Posted on 2013-08-05 22:00:00 by )
  9. We had the best ever camping holiday so far yet the weather was very Scotish (WET) you guys have a wonderful site mad dogs especialy Bindy? the wee black one! Crazy horses that like to have a nosey when having a barbie. The tolet block was clean and smelt perfec thanks to the josh sticks and candles at nght. The pub in Kirkcowan is very good value for money food and drinks. We were there from june 10th to 16 th 2013.we will return hopefully again this year..

    (Posted on 2013-07-14 12:47:00 by )
  10. We had a wonderful weekend in the Bothy. The kids had the freedom of the site along with the dogs, ponies and chickens. James and Hazel were very friendly and welcoming . I'm almost reluctant to tell everyone how great this place is as I want to keep it a secret but they deserve to have a successful business.

    (Posted on 2013-07-02 19:55:00 by )
  11. We had a beautiful stay over half term and will definitely be back. (particularly at times when nights are darker and we can take advantage of the big skies!) This is a perfect site: amazing views; attention to detail; owners who are genuinely interested in their campers having the best possible experience. Plenty to keep families happy but - crucially for us - so much space that we were able to enjoy perfect peace and tranquility. The fire pits were a real treat too. Although the site feels remote, there are lots of things to do within easy driving distance. It's obviously also an ideal place for mountain bikers, walkers, birders...This is a very sepcial place.

    (Posted on 2013-06-10 20:33:00 by )
  12. We visited this campsite in August with our son, daughter and dog Penny. We stayed for 5 days and had a wonderful time. This site is probably one of the best that we have been to, as it is very well laid out with plenty of room.
    The toilet facilites were very good with plenty of hot water and soap. The firepit was great and kept my son amused for hours, foraging for wood, splitting sticks and kindling the fire , after which many an hour was spent sitting around it and chatting over a few bottles of beer.
    The horses did a great job of entertaining my daughter, as she always seemed to be off on a pony trek. There are plenty of walks and cycling that can be done from here but if you dont fancy that then its great just to chill on the site.
    To sum up then, this is a little gem of a site and a credit to James and Hazel.

    John and Shirley Bell

    (Posted on 2012-10-04 20:32:00 by )
  13. We would both like to say a giant thank you to all of our campers who have stayed with us on this, our first year.
    It has been brilliant! and we have loved every minute of it. We have made some wonderful friends and met some fantastic people. A really big thank you to for all of the lovely comments people have left, both on the website and on the search engines, it really means a lot to us that you have enjoyed your time here and just inspires us to keep making things better!
    We have much work to do over the winter(although we are open all year round dont forget) with the new bunk house to build (watch out for that on the website) and the new stables and general improvements around the farm but we cant wait to get stuck in!
    Hope to see lots of you next year! and thank you again for making our first year very special!!
    Love James and Hazel xxx

    (Posted on 2012-09-26 06:17:00 by )
  14. We spent 2 wonderful nights at Balloch O' Dee from 08-09-12 to 10-09-12. What can I say, great hosts, great campsite. We loved the wild camping vibe, and the numerous fire-pits and bbqs are a much welcome addition sadly missing from most sites. The toilet block is amazing...you have to see it to believe it...stunning! All in all, an absolutely cracking site. The only complaint we have is that we didn't stay longer but we will be back.

    :O)

    (Posted on 2012-09-17 11:41:00 by )
  15. Ideal place to get away from it all. Friendly welcome on our arrival from James. Ponies in the field, hens running around and no noise other than nature. Our daughter loved hunting for eggs which she was then able to keep and provided her with the best scrambled egg she's ever had. Will certainly return in the future.

    (Posted on 2012-09-15 08:02:00 by )
  16. we had a great time at Balloch O' Dee, nice clean toilets and great showers, cracking veiws from our tent and to top it off , the fire pits made it for us. Will defo be going back again.

    (Posted on 2012-08-29 15:26:00 by )
  17. Stayed here for one night on 18.08.2012. Only stayed for one night due to it being our kids forst time camping, however we have just came home and are planning areturn trip with our friends.

    A lovely warm welcome on arrival from James and Hazel, they have lovely well mannered sons that roam around the campsite! Very secluded , picturesque campsite, lovely thoughtful points throughout: hammocks, BBQ, Campfires. Amazing space for the kids to roam but you could still see them, well maintained pitched. Toilet blocks were very clean, again lovely touches throughout, magazines and books to borrow, beautiful soaps, and hand creams.

    I just loved my stay here and can't reccommend it enough. Hope to see you all again soon :) Oh and not to forget the great price :) x

    (Posted on 2012-08-20 22:17:00 by )
  18. This campsite is a little treasure... The sign outside says Pull in Pitch up Chill out. This is exactly what we did. Had a great warm welcome from Max and Hazel. Good size campsite with secluded pitches for tents.. plenty of space which was great for us having 3 huskies :) Hazel and James made the dogs very welcome and we could chill out and relax.. The free range chickens on the farm where great and the chance to eat real free range eggs even better... The shower block was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water..

    Just a great base to explore Galloway from, being able to get to the beach or into the national forest in very little time was a bonus.. There are some lovely walks just from the campsite if you don't want to drive..

    We also had some lovely campers with us thanks guys for a lovely break :)

    (Posted on 2012-08-18 07:20:00 by )
  19. Loved this campsite and the friendly reception by the owners. Really well kept grounds......it looks exactly as it does in the pics ....except that there are hammocks to laze in. Fantastic base for walking, cycling in the forest of galloway and touring in and around Dumfries and Galloway. Loads of secluded pitches each with their own character, firepits, picnic tables and stone built BBQ's. Great new toilet , shower block - with piping hot water. Cant recommend it more. PS the eggs were soooo good! Our dog was made very welcome ...as were we! Book now.....go on

    Alan, Jacqui and Max

    (Posted on 2012-08-13 19:09:00 by )
  20. Had a great time stayind at Balloch ' O Dee from 16/07/12 to 21/07/12. First time camping in nearly 20 years, came with my 9 year old son Callum, who had a great time foraging for eggs for breakfast having been given clues on where to look by Hazel!
    Supberb facillities and a warm welcome, a truly get away from it all feeling! Even the torrential rain and wind on a few nights couldn't dampen our spirits!
    We will be back again without a doubt!

    (Posted on 2012-08-11 13:17:00 by )
  21. This is a brilliant campsite, stayed for a week, wish it could have been longer.....best things are lots of space, lovely views, horses, chickens, fabulous array of books to borrow, quality soaps/handwash freely available, atmospheric candles and best of all wonderfully friendly owners who really make you feel welcome :)
    Thank you very much James and Hazel, hope to see you again soon xx
    And Kes, Jazz and Lulu the dogs, who gave an equally warm welcome!

    (Posted on 2012-08-05 20:11:00 by )
  22. Was only stayin' a night,but had such a peaceful and relaxing time we stayed for two. Nice spacious pitches.We had a lovely stone built BBQ and a great fire pit,a hammock and picnic table.What more would a camper need.Some lovely touches in the shower block,Flowers,candels,and a great book collection.WE WILL BE BACK.

    (Posted on 2012-08-01 19:31:00 by )
  23. James,
    Thanks once again for a relaxing time. Facilities spot on,superb location.Nice welcome from you and the missus.No feedback,cause there ain't nothing wrong.Hope the boxers didn't cause too much grief.All the best for the future.Alisdair.

    (Posted on 2012-07-17 12:35:00 by )
  24. lovely campsite. looks so nice!

    (Posted on 2012-05-08 17:39:00 by )